You Are Here: Home » Featured » Maxwell Football Club Expands Maxwell & Bednarik Watch Lists

Maxwell Football Club Expands Maxwell & Bednarik Watch Lists

The Maxwell Football Club today announced the expansion of its 2013 Watch Lists for both the 77th Maxwell Award and the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award.

The original lists were comprised of players who were selected based on their performances during the 2012 season. As the 2013 season has progressed, the Club believes that several additional players warrant attention because of their noteworthy play.

Maxwell Award – Watch List Additions

Name School Position Class
Shane Carden East Carolina QB Junior
Mike Davis South Carolina RB Sophomore
James Franklin Missouri QB Senior
Melvin Gordon Wisconsin RB Sophomore
Jeremy Hill LSU RB Sophomore
Sean Mannion Oregon State QB Junior
Ty Montgomery Stanford WR Junior
Bryce Petty Baylor QB Junior
Brett Smith Wyoming QB Junior
Mark Weisman Iowa RB Junior
Andre Williams Boston College RB Senior
Jameis Winston Florida State QB Freshman

Chuck Bednarik Award – Watch List Additions

Name School Position Class
Shaquil Barrett Colorado State LB Senior
Jay Bromley Syracuse DT Senior
Serderius Bryant Mississippi LB Junior
Dante Fowler Florida DE Sophomore
Kyle Fuller Virginia Tech DB Senior
Josh Mauro Stanford DE Senior
Steven Nelson Oregon State DB Junior
Michael Sam Missouri DE Senior
Keith Smith San Jose State LB Senior

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 69’ and the NFL Hall of Fame 67’.

Manti Te’o of Notre Dame was the recipient of the 76th Maxwell Award and he was also named as the winner of the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award for his outstanding performance during the 2012 season. Te’o is currently a member of the San Diego Chargers.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced on October 29th and three finalists for each award will be announced November 25th. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 12th. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7, 2014.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club’s Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

Join the Maxwell Football Club now to vote for these awards!

About The Author

Founder, TakingBadSchotz.com

Zach Schotz is a Sport Management major at Syracuse University. His favorite athlete is probably Doug Mietnkiewicz or Robert Horry, and he learned how to ride a bike when he was 17 (editor Josh Langer taught him).

Number of Entries : 440

Leave a Comment

© Taking Bad Schotz 2011-12. All rights reserved. // Powered by MUD.

Scroll to top